Duke Club of Washington: Partners in Education

The Duke Club of Washington has an awesome program called Partners in Education.  Alumni from across the DC area partner with local area schools to serve as mentors to the students.  Recently, at the behest of Kim, I participated in a field trip to Cox Farms in Virginia with first graders.  I got to say, it was a lot of fun.  I’m really glad that I was able to be a part of the field trip and meet the students.  I don’t have much interaction with kids in my work or in my other volunteer activities, and I was really inspired by how intelligent and inquisitive the first graders were.

I really think Partners in Education is a great program.  What would really be interesting is to track the kids that are mentored and see if they end up going to college, specifically to Duke.  I am really excited to see what sort of impact Duke Alumni have on the future of these bright students.

Cristian at PiE

The next field trip is to the Maryland Science Center on December 11.

More information on the Duke Club of Washington can be found at their website: http://www.dcw.org
More information on the DCW Partners in Education Program can be found here: http://www.dukealumni.com/washington-dcw/partners-in-education

To Donate to the Partners in Education Program: https://secure.www.alumniconnections.com/olc/pub/DUKE/events/event_order.cgi?tmpl=events&event=2241903

Leave a Reply

